I was interviewed today by El Espejo Canario about Playa Reducto

Gran Hotel, Arrecife, Lanzarote (Spain) Deutsc...

Gran Hotel, Arrecife, Lanzarote (Spain) Deutsch: Gran Hotel Arrecife (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Playa del Reducto, Arrecife

Playa del Reducto, Arrecife (Photo credit: Paul Stephenson)

Playa del Reducto in Arrecife

Playa del Reducto in Arrecife (Photo credit: palestrina55)

I was interviewed today by El Espejo Canario, (you can listen to the broadcast at http://tinyurl.com/ncnhvk2).

The broadcast started with members of the public being asked the question “What would you think if you were told that somebody owned land on the beach”?

The general response was that it was not a subject they had ever considered, but they thought it would be impossible for somebody to own part of the beach.

Even the title of the radio broadcast was ‘Juan Pedro Noguera, dueño de parte de la playa del Reducto, en Arrecife’.

I have never believed, or I have I ever stated that I specifically own part of the beach, I simply own a plot of land that is situated in front of the beach, between the sand and the sea, and have owned this 500 meter rock for more than four decades.

I appreciate that when something is incorrectly reported as an invasion of a public resource, it is going to evoke emotive opinions and responses.

The fact of the matter is, the beach has no recreational facilities whatsoever which serve the public or that provides jobs for residents.

As I have stated in all of my media interviews in recent weeks, I have presented a perfectly good use for the land and all I want to know is will permission be granted or not, and if not, considering all of the businesses on the Island which have been illegally built; which has been reported in many media publications and brought to the attention of the public by the Cesar Manrique Foundation, what are the specific reasons, in law, for refusing me permission to develop my land and why am I and other people in a similar situation to me being treated differently?

1 comment
  1. Jessica Sanders said:

    I liked the blog, Can’t understand Spanish so didn’t listen to the interview.

Leave a comment